What’s With Today, Today?

I woke up at 6:30 this morning to go get the wife from work.

For the first time in a long time, when I cashed my check I kept it cash. I’m not used to carrying cash, and I never put any in my wallet. Instead, I left it all next to the door where I keep all of my crap for leaving the house. I knew I needed to get gas this morning, so as I was putting my shoes on I looked at the money and thought to grab some before I left. Then I realized I was about to leave the house in shorts, and it’s freezing outside, so I kicked my shoes off and went to put some pants on. Then I left the house with no money.

Not ten minutes later I’m getting on the highway and my car started beeping. I’m unfamiliar with these beeps, but they sounded like some national weather alert beeps. No lights popped on on the dash, no messages came up, nothing happened other than the car was beeping. It scared the shit out of me, so I pulled over just after getting on the highway. Once stopped, the beeping stopped. It could’ve been me stopping or good timing, but when I started driving again, the beeping started again. After a few rounds, they stopped and never happened again.

A few miles up the road I was almost in a crash that would’ve killed someone. For some reason in that particular spot, every morning, there’s almost a wreck. Because people don’t know how to merge onto a highway, and nobody else knows how to drive.

I got the wife from work and headed home to get money so we could go get something to eat. Our options were White Castle, or Frisch’s, because that’s what the wife said. Those are the closest places to us that are open at this time of morning where we can get food other than breakfast food. She settled on Frisch’s, so we went there.

Over the years I’ve had many issues with Frisch’s, yet for some reason they continue to be one of my favorite places. I decided I was going to get their Philly Cheese Steak sandwich, which is pretty good. The lady tells me they no longer sell those. So I ordered a Super Big Boy because nothing else sounded good, including that, because I really wasn’t in the mood for a burger. But because those fucks got rid of yet another thing I enjoyed from there, I had no other choice. I got it in a combo with onion rings.

When we got to the window, the lady told me they were out of onion rings. At that point, I was done. Only an hour had gone by since I woke up, and nothing had gone my way. I decided I wasn’t going to do anything that I wanted to do today, which meant I’d have to leave the house. And with the way things are going already, I’m not prepared to do that. If I run out of cigarettes, which is going to happen, then so be it. Something tells me that going to the gas station a block away will lead to my death or something worse.

I need to take my medicine.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in General Chatter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What’s With Today, Today?

  1. orbthefirst says:

    Something in the air, I think. Its been brewing for about a week now, and I dunno, but I can feel my pulse in my spine, and Im overdrawn at the bank & out of caffeine.

    So yea. Expecting lots of fun today.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joey says:

    I hate days like that. Best to stay home, yessir!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: Restaurants Suck | Martians Attack!

Speak, Earthling!

