Redd And Xiba

Our miniature pinscher, Redd, hasn’t been comfortable around other dogs since we had Angus put down. Not so much that he freaks out, he just doesn’t really acknowledge them. Even if they want to play, his cold shoulder is out. He didn’t care to be around either of my moms dogs, but as soon as we got a new neighbor, Andrew, who will get his own post here soon, Redd was in love with the new neighbor dog, Xiba. She’s a cutie, too. She’s an Australian Cattle Dog, so she’s quite bigger than Redd is, but she is about the same size Angus was.

The two of them play like crazy outside, until they’re both out of breath and ready for a nap.

Well lately, Redd has had an interest in licking up female dog pee from the ground. Then he foams at the mouth, gets an upset stomach, and doesn’t eat his food. He’s starting to look sickly. I should probably take him to the vet or something.

Anyway, he’s got this new habit of going into the new neighbor’s yard and sniffing around for where Xiba has done her business. Then he licks at it, marks his territory, then goes off to find another. We yell at him as he’s heading that way so that he doesn’t get into the yard, and so far he’s been good for listening when we catch him before hand.

But if he makes it to the yard, forget about it. He’s dying and Xiba’s piss is the antidote.

Tonight I took a little longer getting my crap out of the car and it gave him plenty of time to run over into the yard and find the honey pot of piss. I walked up to where the neighbor’s shrub line stops, saw Redd standing above a crop circle of yellow, dying grass, and he was licking his tongue off.

I yelled out to him and he didn’t budge. Three more times I yelled, three more times he completely ignored me.

That’s when I did what always worked with Angus… I stomped up to him from behind… he didn’t flinch.

So then I had to do what we almost never have to do. I smacked him on the butt. Well really, it was a nudge to the upper leg, just to get his attention, which it did. He jumped and spun around, staring at me.

I said, “Come on, let’s go.”

That always works.

It didn’t work.

I walked back to my driveway and looked to see where he was. He was still in the same spot, still staring at me.

I acted like I was going to walk back to him and he woke up. He ran towards me, then past me, down the driveway, merrily along like nothing happened.

Naturally once we got in to the house he wanted a treat. I said, “You got some fucking nerve.” His stub of a tail wagged happily.

He got a treat.

HALF! I gave him only HALF a treat! Cause he’s being punished, ya know. He’s gotta learn his lesson.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in Awesome Animals, General Chatter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Redd And Xiba

  1. orbthefirst says:

    Poor Red.

    Mas talking about getting a little dog. I mention a mini pin, but she wasnt having it. So I dont know wth well end up with, but Im sure itll be adorable, till the cats figure out they can eat it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joey says:

    That’s how it goes. They’ve got us all trained. We’re some sad suckers.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: The New Neighbor | Martians Attack!

Speak, Earthling!

