Nickelback vs AC/DC

I think I just mis-titled this piece. I’m not trying to say which band is better than the other, because that’s no contest. AC/DC destroys all. Actually, my reason for writing this is to say that Nickelback and AC/DC are basically the same band.

If you didn’t react some type of way after reading those last eight words, you’re probably dead. Go see a doctor.

Now, as you might have guessed, I am an AC/DC fan. I like none more than AC/DC. I think I was eleven when I first heard AC/DC and instantly fell in love with them.

Nickelback, on the other hand, I don’t care for. When they first got big I liked them for about a month, then I moved on to something else.

I’m not one of those people who openly hates on Nickelback just because it’s a popular thing to do. I just don’t care for them. That’s all. They don’t piss me off and ruin my life. They’re just not for me. Hell, I think they’re better than almost anything coming out nowadays. I can’t stand any of that trash. If I had to pick between Nickelback or Five Hundredth Year, Nickelback all the way.

Like I said, this is all about how I think Nickelback and AC/DC are pretty much the same.

How much you wanna bet someone steals this?



Are you really pissed right now? Are you cursing me? I get it.

What it boils down to, is that they’re both bands that write radio hits. And they’re not alone. Almost every successful band or musical artist was great at writing radio songs.

The fact of the matter is, Nickelback gets a lot of shit because they write radio songs and claim to be a metal band. They’re a radio metal band. Good for them. They figured out how to write songs that would get played on the radio, and the fans they have are radio fans. But those radio fans buy albums, and Nickelback is a very rich band because of it.

In other words, there are haters out there. Who knew?

Do you think Nickelback would be nearly as successful if they weren’t hated so much? Maybe, maybe not. But one thing’s for sure. I hear more hate towards them than I hear anything else about them. If I had never heard one of their songs, I’d know who they were just because of the hate. And I’d be interested to know why they’re hated so much, so I’d listen to something by them. And who knows? Maybe I’d like it so much that I’d buy something by them. And then maybe I’d become a fan. All because I found out about them because of the haters.

That scenario is very possible, and on a large scale. And that doesn’t just go for Nickelback, it goes for everything everyone hates on a large scale for no reason more than that thing is milking popularity for financial gain.

All of that shit is just like Freddy Krueger. He only existed because people were scared of him. The more people were scared, the stronger he got. If you truly hated something and wanted it to go away, you had to ignore it.

All of that aside, my point here is, Nickelback isn’t the first band to do that. AC/DC did it, and continues to. Of their last two albums, “Black Ice” was one of their best in a very long time, and should easily be placed amongst their best albums ever. And its follow up, “Rock Or Bust,” was even better.

Why do you think that is? Because they’re masters of their trade? Because they’re Gods of rock? Well, yes and yes. But not only that, they’ve figured out how to write hits and they do it well. Those aforementioned albums were full of hits. Every song had the potential to be a radio hit. They could do a concert where they only played those albums, and no fans would be upset.

Just because all of the songs weren’t played on the radio doesn’t mean they weren’t ready for radio play. That’s what they were written for. Bands put out an 11-14 song album and every song was written to be radio songs, chances are very good at the absolute very least, one song is going to be a hit. But with good bands, you’ll probably get more like 3 or 4 hits off of that album. Each hit has its time in the spotlight, which means more advertising for that album, which means even more people are going to go buy it.

So where’s AC/DC’s hate? Oh, they get hate. All of the highest selling bands gets hated on. Eagles, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd (Ok, I’ve actually never heard anything bad about Floyd, but I’m sure it exists.), The Beatles, The Doors… they all get hated on by SOMEBODY. Not just the “Eh, they’re not really my thing” hate, but the obnoxious “THEY PUT OUT 17 ALBUMS THAT ALL SOUND THE SAME!!!!” hate. Why do you think AC/DC puts out albums that all sound the same? BECAUSE IT SELLS. They found the formula and they stuck to it.

There are many bands out there who have done or are doing the exact same thing as Nickelback. I mean, after all, one of the reasons to having a band is to be successful, right? Why not take advantage of the system to achieve that? You really shouldn’t hate that. Who doesn’t want to be successful?

Naturally, haters aren’t expected to be anything more than that, but they’re missing the point here, in that if you’re going to hate one for doing something, shouldn’t you hate all for doing that same thing? I bet if Nickelback opened for AC/DC, nobody would have a problem with that. Just saying.

I’m not going to go out and become a Nickelback fan. At least not on purpose. I’m just saying that I’m not going to hate them for figuring out how to do something fun while making tons of cash. I’m sure they could find worse ways to spend their time than going out and playing music to a ton of fans while raking in the dough.

While I’m not a fan, I think I’m going to get and regularly wear a Nickelback shirt. Just to see what kind of reactions I get.

Get it together, haters. Go hate something worthwhile, like racism, bigotry, war, homelessness, unemployment, or child molesters. Spend that energy on something worthwhile. The hate on Nickelback isn’t worth it. They’re still around. They’re still writing hits. And they’ve still got fans who buy and listen to their music.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nickelback vs AC/DC

  1. joey says:

    There are so many bands like that, love or hate. Creed is the one I can’t take much of. It really does sound like a broken record to me. Ugh, I don’t care much for Journey< REO Speedwagon, or Heart, either. But I agree, it's because you either like "the sound" or you don't. You did a good job of pointing to WHY part of having "a sound" is that variation can only go so far. Makes me think of exceptions — like Kiss's Beth.
    So many of us have a favorite song from artists we don't really enjoy otherwise. Totally thought provoking, Matt.

    Goes back to other artistic choices, like writers' voices and how we only like our grandma's potato salad…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Matt Roberts says:

      Yeah, absolutely. It encompasses everything. I think the biggest difference between AC/DC and Nickelback, which I didn’t point out in the piece, is that AC/DC comes from a time when radio was all you had, really, unless you were going out and buying records. Nickelback is an internet age band. And everybody on the internet loves to bitch about popular stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

Speak, Earthling!

