Self-published Books – You Get What You Pay For?

I just read an amazing piece about self-published books and the authors who write them by Linda G. Hill. Since I’ve self-published before and plan to again in the future, this hit home for me. Nobody has put it like she does here.

Warning: rant ahead.

There’s a discussion going on in one of my Facebook groups and I’m having a very hard time staying out of it. So lucky you, you get to hear the side that’s going on in my head.

The complaint was a misused word. The sentence they are “Ugh!”ing over included the phrase, “something worst.” The original complainer called it a grammatical error. I pointed out it could have been a typo, and asked if it was one of many. She said it was the only one she’d found, so I said it was understandable: even a spellchecker wouldn’t have picked it up, to which she replied, “True probably self published.” Note the total lack of grammatical issues with her reply. (Sorry, I get sarcastic when I’m pissed off.) What I wanted to say was that even had it been edited and proofread professionally by a traditional publisher’s editing department, they hire humans. And humans are fallible.

Click here to read the rest! It’s great!

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in General Chatter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Self-published Books – You Get What You Pay For?

  1. Jaded Jeni says:

    I wanted to comment on her article so bad but I had to wait and cool down and then forgot all about it, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LindaGHill says:

    Thanks so much for the re-post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Speak, Earthling!

