April The Giraffe

April finally gave birth today, and if you cared enough to watch, there was a continuous live feed in her enclosure so that you could tune in any time to see how far along she was. My wife has been following it for a while now. I had only watched when she made me, but this morning when she got home from work she told me April was finally in labor.

We tuned in to the live feed and watched as the miracle happened. It was awesome. Well, it was for us. I went to Facebook to post it and saw a couple of people showing their displeasure for the whole thing. “Now we can finally get on to something more important,” one said. Another bundled it and Fiona the baby hippo together and said he didn’t care.

Why did I care? My response to one said it all. This was something positive. It was the miracle of life, nature doing its thing that it has done for millions of years. It was something we could all pull for, if we so chose. “Come on April!” my wife would chant from her computer while watching the live feed for the last couple weeks.

It replaced all of the crap I ALWAYS see on Facebook. Cops mistreating the public, shootings, riots, politics… this was something good. It was something positive. It was beautiful.

That’s why I liked it.

Unfortunately, the baby has been born and that little bit of positivity is over. I’m sure there will be constant updates to the baby and how it’s doing so that those of us who care enough about it can continue to follow it. Locally, we’ve been following Fiona the baby hippo to see how she’s doing, and thankfully she’s doing well.

Hopefully something similar to these two events will come along to replace them when they’re done and out of the spotlight. This is what the world needs more of more than ever. It lifted our spirits for a moment, and for that, I’m very grateful.

The baby boy will be named after a naming contest takes place. If you missed the birth, here it is.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in Awesome Animals, General Chatter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April The Giraffe

  1. Jaded Jeni says:

    This just brought tears to my eyes and reinforces why I think you’re such a good person. (Not that I need reinforcement, but you know what I mean.) It’s like people who are bitching about this are basically saying to wallow in the negativity and forget any shred of happiness that comes our way. Fuck. That.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: APRIL THE GIRAFFE! – LEGIT ♡ TRASH

Speak, Earthling!

