Live Friday Nights: Green Day – King For A Day

I love hearing a good band play live. Some of the best bands in the world can be terrible live. Which is cool, because not everybody can be great at everything. I can accept that a band is just a studio band. Hell, one of my very favorites is terrible live, like 95% of the time. And while it sucks, I can still accept it. I love the studio stuff completely.

However, a band who is good playing live, who can feed off one another, and is jamming to something, you can feel that. It’s special. I had that experience recently when I went to Elkhart, IN to see The Marshall Tucker Band. I’m not a huge fan of theirs, in that I’ve never owned an album, and I really only know the songs that get played on the radio. That doesn’t mean I dislike them either. I just don’t know a lot by them.

My dad loves them and has for the last 45 years they’ve been around. He’s seen them live five times. So I thought it would be fun as hell to go on a road trip to see a great band play live.

I’ve been to a lot of great concerts, but that show had to be one of the top 3 I’ve ever seen. They were so amazing live, and they had the audience in the palm of their hands. To me, that’s a good band.

Not just that they did all that, but that they were good live. Those bands excel where the other bands don’t. Hell, I saw a video of The Beatles playing a song live in studio, and it was almost terrible. I love The Beatles, but I have to be honest. That performance sucked.

So anyway, to make a long story longer, I love checking out different bands on YouTube to see how they do live. And then when I’m in the mood and got nothing to do, I’ll put those videos on and have a good time. I figured I’d start sharing some of my favorites, in case you like the same crap.

The inaugural Live Friday Nights goes to Green Day because I’m seeing them live for the first time in August and I’m pumped. This is from the Reading concert which can be seen completely on YouTube. Not only is this a good performance by the band, but the mixing is perfection. Every instrument and vocal is turned up to the perfect level. As a musician, that kind of stuff is very important to me, and very noticeable.

I was going to share their performance of Jesus Of Suburbia, but then I saw this for the first time and it was too awesome not to share. I’ve always been a fan of King For A Day, but never thought it to be a song they would do live. So seeing this, and it being so well done all the way around, was cool as hell. And then the Shout cover, very nice. I think you’ll enjoy this.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in Live Friday Nights, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Live Friday Nights: Green Day – King For A Day

  1. Pingback: Green Day Live | Martians Attack!

Speak, Earthling!

