Pop Is No Bueno

I’m not a health nut, like some of my Twitter followers would like to believe. I’m severely overweight, but that’s about where my problems end. I just went to the doctor today for a check up and discovered that I’m almost disgustingly in perfect health. Doctor’s minds are blown every time they read my charts.

I get it. I’m a fat dude. But I’m healthy. That doesn’t happen often, so kids, don’t rely on that happening. Stay thin AND healthy.

Anyway, my biggest problem is pop. Or whatever you call it, cola, soda, fizzerly water. Add to it the fact that I love to drink.

Back in October 2016 I was told I was diabetic. I had already completely stopped drinking pop a month before, but the damage had been done. I was the heaviest I’d ever been, and I felt it. I couldn’t do anything. I actually felt like an overweight slob. Never before had I felt that way. I literally always feel like a thinner guy in a fat suit. But not then. I realized I had hit bottom.

I continued not drinking pop, but I did change my diet completely. I ate much better and started feeling better. Pounds started coming off and I already felt like my old self again. Still fat, of course, but better.

By January of this year, just two and a half months later, I was off of insulin. I slowly but eventually went completely back to my old food diet. Frozen pizzas, fast food, microwavable burritos. Today, another two and a half months later, I found out that I’m basically not diabetic anymore. Six months after being diagnosed with a blood sugar of 560 (it’s supposed to be below 120).

I didn’t really do much of anything different, except I stopped drinking pop. I was drinking a lot of it. I could go through four 2-liters in a day, every day. I stopped doing that, and everything changed.

It turns out, I’m addicted to pop. Not so much sweets in general, or sugar so much, but pop. I discovered how bad the addiction is just this week.

I haven’t completely quit. I try to only have one a day, as a treat. When I’m not drinking that, I drink a lot of water and a lot of unsweetened tea.

Well, lately I’ve been slipping back into drinking more pop, and I’m not happy about it. So I’m trying to keep it to just one or two, but I’ve found that if I’m not drinking one, I’m thinking about it. Or I feel like I NEED something, so I go outside and smoke a cigarette, but that isn’t it. I still have that feeling that I NEED something. I got a pop and took a drink. That feeling went away.

Son of a bitch. Coke was literally my cocaine.

And you thought it burned when you drank it.

I’m fighting it. Literally fighting it. We have a 12 pack of Mt. Dew in the fridge, and it’s so easy to grab a can and have it drank in 3 drinks. And then I get another one without even thinking about it. Yesterday I finished a can and made myself get a big cup of water instead. It was a good move, after I downed half of it in one drink, I was over the pop. Then I forced myself to make another pitcher of tea, and that helped immensely.

The fact is, pop is not good for anybody. Maybe your body chemistry can handle drinking it all the time, but it’s still not good for you.

For instance, like I said, I haven’t changed anything really about my diet except for the pop. I don’t work out like I should, but that’s going to change soon. Basically, I just stopped drinking pop and left my diet at that. Since October of last year, I’ve lost 14 pounds, just from not drinking as much pop. Two of those pounds I lost since this day last week. That includes eating all of that bad food over Easter, and drinking nothing but pop on Easter.

I also went from a blood sugar level of 560 in October to regularly around 100 now, which is where it’s supposed to be. I went from having diabetes to not having it. All of that because I gave up pop.

Now, if I was stronger I wouldn’t ever drink it again, but that’s not going to happen. I get it. Pop is awesome. But if this is to be any sort of PSA, the only thing I can say is, make sure to get some water in your life, every day. Don’t just suck down pop after pop. Even diet pop. It’s all terrible for you. Don’t do that to yourself. Stop drinking it for two weeks and see how much better you feel. Fall in love with water. The health benefits are amazing.

As for me, I’m hoping to continue on this path of doing better for myself. It’s long overdue, but never too late to start.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in General Chatter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pop Is No Bueno

  1. Jaded Jeni says:

    You can do it, babe! *cheers while sipping my Mt Dew*

    Ugh… it’s gonna be so hard to give it up. But I will. We both need to. *sigh*

    Liked by 2 people

  2. orbthefirst says:

    I got diabetes in my family (mas got it) and Im just under borderline myself.
    Ive tried to quit soda, and as it turns out, its apparently easier for me to walk away from cocaine than it is for me to quit drinking soda. Ive had about a 2 liter a day habit for a long, long time, and water always made me feel ill since it almost killed me when I was 19 and got crypto from bad water.
    Ill sometimes make myself drink water, cuz its filling, but it does nothing for my thirst. I do want to quit someday though as Im sure at least 20 of my 250lbs is water weight.
    For me the motivation is more mobility based than health based though. Its just easier to get around when I dont weight as much. Sure I can hold up my own weight with my arms and do things like chin ups for days if I have to..but that doesnt mean I wanna, lol.
    I know Ill probably never see the 195lbs I was at before I went south mental/health-wise, but I can stand to lose a bunch. And hopefully this year Ill find the motivation to do it.

    Good luck, man. Im pullin for ya.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Arionis says:

    These are wise words. I also had/have the same problem. Except where I come from in the south we don’t call it Pop. Everything was a Coke no matter what it was, with the notable exception of Dr. Pepper. Can’t disrespect the Dr. I married a Canadian that called it Pop. We have compromised and now call it Soda. Anyway, I am getting off track here. All through my 20-30’s I lived on Mt. Dew and Skittles. Just in the last few years I’ve made a concentrated effort to limit myself to one soda a day. It has made a real difference in how good I feel. Not to say I haven’t ever fallen off the wagon. I often find myself slipping back to my old ways during vacations or high stress times at work. But I usually get back on track sooner or later. Good luck to you (raising a bottle of water) and go pop Pop in the mouth.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joey says:

    Fizzerly water. lol Yeah. Me too. I’ve known this for years and years. I’ve been off the wagon and back on it for at least a decade, it’s a REAL addiction and so bad for us. Oh how I would love to drink Coke all the livelong day and feel great.
    I do the thing with the diet sodas and seltzers and then I don’t feel so bad when I splurge on a REAL COKE. I’m off Coke though, and onto Pepsi with real sugar, cause I think, I’m not sure, but I think corn syrup is BAD (for me). Like badder than other things. I’m all about Tab and Coke Zero cherry, but also I like A&W diet root beer and diet Dr. Pepper, but I hafta be careful with those cause aspartame is a migraine trigger for me.
    Water, tea, coffee — all good, all better, but Yes, Coke addict. I swear when I have one, my eyes gloss over and you can see me buzz.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak, Earthling!

