Port Isaac, Cornwall, England

The wife and I, for the longevity of our union, have talked about where we’d move to if we could. I’ve mentioned Maine before because Stephen King, and she’s mentioned San Diego before because she was born there but moved when she was 1 and she don’t remember it at all, and then I’ve mentioned Amsterdam because drugs and hookers, and she’s mentioned Portland, Oregon lately, and I think that’s where we’ve settled on.

Until now.

I think I want to move to Port Isaac, Cornwall, England. I bet you didn’t know that.

As it turns out, it’s a port. I bet you didn’t know that, either. Most of those buildings are probably businesses or lodgings, which I guess technically would also be a businesses. Whatever.

Eh, it’s alright.
Source: VisitCornwall.com

Since finding permanent residence there would be difficult, we would most likely have to live in a town or city down the road from there. I’m sure finding permanent residence is hard there, too. But, there’s a lot of open fields. We could set up a tent or something.

I love the history of the place. I’m hoping that there are a ton of haunted buildings there. And if we lived there in the port, we could re-enact the Black Pearl attacking Port Royal all the time. Run around blowing shit up. Well, I would. The wife would probably skip out on that.

So, how did I discover this place? Well, apparently Doc Martin is filmed there. That’s not how I know it. I have Windows 10, and I’m sure like a lot of you who also have it, at your login screen to get into your computer (if you require a password) the background is always a different picture, and they’re all pretty awesome. Sometimes I actually look up what the pic is all about. This was one of those cases. The first picture I posted up there is my current background.

Source: I don’t know, I saw it on Pintrest

I thought maybe it was in Italy or Greece somewhere, but when I saw it was England I was excited. “Hey! I can speak England!” I yelled. So I told the wife we were going to move there. She said, “as long as there’s a Hilton there,” because she works for one and could easily transfer her job. So that’s out. I don’t think there’s a formal hotel like that for 1000 meters from there.

I don’t know what meters are, but I was trying to sound England. Is that far, or…?

Maybe we can just go visit some time after we move to Portland.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in General Chatter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Port Isaac, Cornwall, England

  1. Jaded Jeni says:

    It’s really nice there. Very provincial. Very England.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joey says:

    MAINE! I vote MAINE!
    Portland’s nice, too.
    I read people who live in Cornwall, although maybe not the Port Isaac part.

    Liked by 2 people

Speak, Earthling!

