Hand One Is Dealt – My Book

Years ago I wrote a book during National Novel Writing Month. It was the first time I had participated, and I was happy with what I had written. I spent a month or so editing it and writing more, and then writing more, and then a month turned into a year and then…

Well eventually I was sick of waiting for responses from agents and publishers, and I was sick of just waiting period, so I went ahead and self published it.

This was back in 2012. Damn I’m getting old.

Just now Jen told me I should update the price of it, since it’s not a seller at all, and honestly, I’m kinda glad about that.

I was in such a hurry to have a book published that I didn’t really give this one the TLC it needed and deserved. That’s just me being real with you, but mostly myself.

I do believe, however, that it is a great story and there are moments in it that are still some of my favorite things I’ve written. It just should’ve been edited better and rewritten a few more times. Still though, if you can get past that, it’s not a bad story.

A good friend of mine from high school, Krista, hand painted that cover for me. She’s freaking amazing.

Anyway, I just changed the price of the paperback from $7.99 to $5.99, which is where it will stay. I can’t take it down any further, actually. And the ebook is still just $1.99, and you can get it for free if you’re a Prime member, I think.

Please, take it from me. If you’re an up and coming author, or just a writer in general, if you truly love doing what you do, and you want others to feel about your work the way you do, give it the TLC it deserves. Edit it, rewrite it, polish it. Make it beautiful. Otherwise you’ll regret it. I have for five years.

Click here to get it from Amazon!

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hand One Is Dealt – My Book

  1. Jaded Jeni says:

    I absolutely loved it and I was pissed when it ended. I could have easily read more, had you written more. 10/10 would (and do) recommend.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. orbthefirst says:

    Still have it! Still havent read it though..sorry bout that. Havent read anything in ages, really.

    I know the feeling though. I barely write anymore. Since I started Valium, and since I quit drinking, the drive just isnt there like it was. Even my last poetic blog thing was half a dream I decided to talk about. So I guess my book thing (or wtf ever it was gonna be) can wait. Hell, its waited 20 years, it can sit on the burner for a while. Wait until I can give myself what it deserves.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Arionis says:

    Put it on my wish list. I’ll give it a read soon. Like a lot of bloggers, I also have been working on a book or two. Never got any to even self publish stage, so that’s something to be proud of.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Matt Roberts says:

      Yeah, I guess so. CreateSpace is easy to follow, but it’s still a lot of work. I did enjoy that part though, because I was in complete control of my work. I kind of have a phobia of giving someone else that control.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Krista Lynn says:

    Awww, yay! Thanks for the shout-out! And I’m taking your advice and I’m taking my time getting mine to being published. It’s a big milestone and it’s tempting to be impatient. I keep my signed copy of your book wrapped like priceless art, because it is. It was a labor of love and worth the respect. I can read the ebook copy when I want to read it again!

    Liked by 2 people

Speak, Earthling!

