Dealing With Uber Help

Just so you can see what kind of headache it is dealing with Uber Help as a driver, here are some recent conversations I’ve had with them.

This first one is about money and how money I made just disappeared. If you work for Uber, you have an option to get a debit card from Go Bank, and if you do, you can have money transfered directly to the card immediately for free. It’s really nice. But I’m now missing money and Uber is having problems figuring out what I mean. Here’s the conversation.

ME: My Go Bank card is showing that I am missing money. I should have $15.74 but I only have $7.23. Where did it go?

UBER: Thanks for reaching out about this Matthew, and I’m sorry to hear you’re experiencing this issue. Our engineering team has confirmed that this is an issue, and they are working to fix this as soon as possible.

I completely understand how much of an inconvenience this is to you, but I do want to leave you with an alternative solution while we work on this. Although you cannot currently cash out Instant Pay earnings in-app, you can still use the cash-out feature online at partners.uber.com.

I hope that this helps in the meantime and I truly apologize for the difficulty here.

ME: I’m glad it’s being worked on, but am i going to get my money?

UBER: Thanks for reaching out about this Matthew,

I understand your concern regarding the instant pay. I will try my best to help you out.

I’m sorry to hear you’re experiencing this issue. Our engineering team has confirmed that this is an issue, and they are working to fix this as soon as possible.

I completely understand how much of an inconvenience this is for you, but I do want to leave you with an alternative solution while we work on this. Although you cannot currently cash out Instant Pay earnings in-app, you can still use the cash-out the feature online at partners.uber.com.
I hope that this helps in the meantime and I truly apologize for the difficulty here.

ME: You didn’t answer my question. you answered the first question which was already answered, verbatim. I know you’re fixing it. What I want to know is, am I going to get the $7 that is missing from my account or not.

UBER: Hi Matthew,

Thanks for writing in. As much as I’d like to help you, apparently your concern isn’t quite clear. Could you please give me more details on your issue, so that I can resolve it for you as soon as possible.

Looking forward to your response with more information about your issue.

ME: I wasn’t clear enough in my first message? On Friday I instant paid $46 to my Go Bank card. I spent $20. It then showed I had $17 left. That doesn’t add up. Since then I’ve been missing that money. Can you help me find it? Please? I wish I didn’t need that $7 or $8 but I do.

UBER: Thank for writing back to us, Matthew.

I have reviewed your account. According to our records all your payment s are done correctly. You cashed out payments of $14.21 on 2017-05-20, $11.91 on 2017-05-20 , $15.08 on 2017-05-21. For clarity I am providing screenshot of your payment statement.

ME: Yes, my payments from you have been done correctly. But I AM MISSING MONEY FROM MY GO BANK ACCOUNT. Should I contact them? Here are my screen shots.

Now if you add and subtract all that, you get a total of $28.15. Here’s how much I currently have in my account.

I want my $8.51. Can you help with that or do I have to contact them? Unfortunately I need that money.

While typing this up they finally gave me Go Bank’s customer support. Now maybe I’ll figure out what’s going on. Hopefully Go Bank isn’t as inept as Uber.

This is how they deal with their drivers. This is how much they CARE to help. They half-ass read your problem, then copy and paste a bunch of long winded responses that MIGHT have something to do with your issue, and then when you get an attitude and yell, they ask you to clarify what it is you want, even though you already did that. They just refused to read it.

Here’s another issue I had recently. My phone is out of minutes, so I have to use my wife’s phone to Uber. After 3 days of using her phone, Uber finally decided to tell me I couldn’t do that. On a Friday night. Goodbye money.

ME: I’m unable to use my phone to drive as I am out of minutes. I’m trying to use my wife’s phone but I can’t get the verification code sent to my phone cause I’m not getting it. I’d love to drive tonight. Can you fix this please?

UBER: Thanks for reaching out, Matthew. We’re happy to make this change for you.

You cannot receive the verification code if you’re not using the phone number you associated with your account. However, we can temporarily change your phone number to your wife’s number(make sure that your wife does not have an Uber account). To do so, please reply to this email confirming the following:

– Last 4 digits of the driver’s license on file
– The phone number you would like to have associated with your Uber account

We appreciate your patience and are looking forward to hearing from you.

ME: Thank you. Last four, **** and her number is 513-***-****

UBER: Hi Matthew,

We’re happy to make this change for you.

In order to better troubleshoot this issue, please reply to this email confirming the following:

– Last 4 digits of the driver’s license on file
– The phone number you would like to have associated with your Uber account

We appreciate your patience and are looking forward to hearing from you.

ME: Did I not just answer this?

UBER: Hi Matthew,

Happy to help you.

We have received your last four digits of license number but the phone number that you want to update is not clear. Please provide us the phone number that you want to update. Once we have this information then we can assist you further.

Looking forward to your response.

I resent the phone number and they fixed the problem. BUT, do you see how they do? The problem here is, on both accounts, when they repeat themselves, those are two different people trying to help me. How fucked up is that? They can’t have one person assigned to each issue? This is why things are fucked up in Uberland. This is what I deal with, literally every time I have an issue. And this issue didn’t get fixed right away, so I ended up not being able to work on a busy Friday night.

Kids, don’t work for Uber. Go with Lyft.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in Driving For Uber and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dealing With Uber Help

  1. joey says:

    OMG that’s maddening! I deal with a lot of maddening things at my job, but THAT is much, much worse! OMG No.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak, Earthling!

