Live Friday Nights: Temple Of The Dog – Hunger Strike

This is a week late, but I had to take some time to put this together. I’ll put my two cents in below, but the absolute best thing I’ve read on this can be found here. He says exactly what I would love to say if I could only say it like he did.

I was never a huge Chris Cornell fan, but I’ve always had nothing but respect for him. His voice was unique, his impact on music great, and he is truly one of the best to come out of the 90s. We lost a true rock n roller.

Now, it’s not that I dislike him, I just never really got into his music. I do like a bunch of Soundgarden songs, but that’s about where it ends for me. I do remember when Soundgarden first broke up and I was shocked. I’ve always felt that that should have never happened. And now with his death, his suicide, I feel that that should have never happened either.

Since I live with depression, I understand WHY he did what he did, but I’ll never understand why it continues to happen. There are too many resources now, there are too many aware now, there just… it seems to me like this kind of thing shouldn’t slip past anybody anymore, yet it continues to. And if you’re somebody who thinks that anyone who commits suicide is a coward, you have no idea what you’re talking about.

He didn’t commit suicide, his depression did. Unfortunately, he was caught in the crossfire. Depression crumbles even the strongest of people.

EDIT: I’ve since learned that he had taken more of his anti-depression medication than he should have, and sadly one of the side effects of that medicine is suicidal tendencies, and unfortunately that’s what happened. So the medicine did it. Very sad. If you’re on any of those meds, as I am, be safe with them please.

With that said, here’s a song by him that I’ve always loved, and while this isn’t the exact performance I wanted to share, I couldn’t help but post this because of the way Eddie talks about him, and the love he shows for one of his brothers throughout this performance. It’s beautiful, and so fitting.

RIP Chris Cornell, your impact on the music world will forever be felt.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in Live Friday Nights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Live Friday Nights: Temple Of The Dog – Hunger Strike

  1. joey says:

    I do love that song, and particularly that performance, and Yes, that was the best post I read on Chris Cornell as well. He had a great voice, and I’m glad that part of him lives on. His diversity was also pretty amazeballs.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak, Earthling!

