Live Friday Nights: REO Speedwagon – Roll With The Changes

I’m a fan of REO, even though they get a lot of heat as being a “chick” band, like Journey. Yeah, they got some crap chick songs, but what bands didn’t from back then? It was a standard. Regardless, these guys rock live, and like most of the bands I put up here on LFN, they’re going to make more than one appearance.

I picked this particular performance because it’s great, and because The Midnight Special was an amazing show that had so many great live performances. If I ever ran out of live songs to share, I could keep LFN going with just Midnight Special performances.

I also think Gary Richrath is one of the best rock guitarists ever (that dude wailing on the solos). Sadly he passed at 65 in 2015, may he RIP. But, REO Speedwagon is still rocking hard, and I just found out they’re coming through on the fourth of July for a free concert at one of our big Fourth of July celebrations. I guess I’ll have to go.



Here’s a funny story about REO Speedwagon. Back in the day, late 70s or early 80s some time, they played at a show locally, and when they went to leave their bus broke down. They had to walk to the nearest gas station to use the phone and found out their mechanic would be a while getting there, so they found out where the nearest bar was and walked to it. That was in Cedar Grove at the Cedar Grove Tavern, and my dad happened to be there with his buddies.

When the band walked in, all of the women started swooning over them, especially Kevin Cronin, the lead singer. A girlfriend of my dad’s one buddy started hitting on Kevin and Kevin spent the rest of the evening with her at the bar. My dad’s buddy got pissed off and challenged him to a fight. They went outside and Kevin beat his ass. My dad said he fought like an old school British guy, with his dukes up, and he landed every punch. Hysterical.

How it looked, probably.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in Live Friday Nights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Live Friday Nights: REO Speedwagon – Roll With The Changes

  1. Arionis says:

    I once played an REO “chick” song (Can’t Fight This Feeling) for a girl that I had a crush on. It didn’t work, but I don’t hold it against them.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak, Earthling!

