Whoopsa Daisy

I actually had to Google “Whoopsa” to make sure I was spelling it right. Turns out there’s no correct way to spell it, so this is my way of spelling it.

So, tonight while driving for Uber, I stopped at the Speedway in Covington, KY, and when I walked out I wasn’t paying attention, and I didn’t see there was a step, so my heel clipped it and I went down in the parking lot. In front of everyone.

Road rash on my right elbow, right knee all skinned up and bloody, left knee skinned up. And I feel like a boxer hit me in the gut.

I dropped all my shit, the bottle of Mt. Dew rolled off all shaken up. I laughed cause it was funny, but it fucking hurt.

The best part was, nobody that I could see was laughing. But an old man ran up to me and helped me up then got my Mt. Dew for me. A woman sitting in the car next to where I fell asked if I was okay and pointed out something that fell off of me when I got up, but it was just dirt from the parking lot. It was cool that two strangers were helpful. It made me feel good.

And then I thought, maybe they showed concern cause I’m old now. Like, did he break a hip? Should we call an ambulance? Does he have Life Alert?

And then I was sad again. I am old. I’m not even 40, but I feel it coming, in the form of 70. I used to see old people walking all hunched over or limping and I’d think, “What the hell’s wrong with them? Why don’t they just shake it off and walk normal?” That was young, naive, twenty-something me. But now I get it.

When I got home tonight I went inside and sat down on the couch for a few, then got up, and my knee screamed at me. So I limped around. Eventually it loosened up, but I know it’s going to be a good week before I’m not limping anymore. That is, if I don’t fall again before then, which is a very good possibility.

I’m not a spring chicken anymore.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in Driving For Uber, General Chatter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Whoopsa Daisy

  1. Jaded Jeni says:

    My poor babe. Good thing you’ve got such a nice wifey to play nurse for you. 💖💖💖

    Liked by 2 people

  2. joey says:

    Bummer. Those abrasions look OWIE! Last I fell was in the fall, took a spill on slippery rocks. Bruised and banged-up a bit, considered buying hiking boots… But a fall can happen anywhere, to anyone, and so it does. 😦

    Liked by 2 people

  3. orbthefirst says:

    I fall out of the tub every so often..which probably would be hilarious to see, but NOBODY wants to see that. Lol 😛

    I do fall getting in to certain vehicles a lot. Like if theyre too far from the curb, or too tall, and I almost always know its gonna happen as soon as I get up from my chair. Do I say anything? Of course not, lol. Last time I fell into my cousins car, on a busy road, midday with a lot of foot traffic going by. My pants fell down to my knees on the way,one short leg under the car, long leg twisted & knee locked up in the car. I laughed my ass off at all the horrified people watching. Took a few minutes to get my hip unstuck from between the curb & car, and my pants pulled up. It was hilarious.
    Knee was messed up good, but I was fine. (That knee is about shot anyway..)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. orbthefirst says:

    Be careful out there! And mind the falling of the pants 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Matt Roberts says:

      Yeah lol. I was wearing these shirts I got that don’t stay up on their own very well. Like, if I put my car keys in a pocket, that’s enough weight to pull those shorts down. I can’t believe they didn’t come off.

      Like

  5. Arionis says:

    Ouch! Glad your OK. You know, that second bruise picture kinda looks like a coiled snake. So it’s like you got a free tattoo. Probably hurt worse than the needle though.

    Like

Speak, Earthling!

