Mt. Dew Livewire – The Pop Of Gods

A few years ago the makers of Mt. Dew, or Pepsi if you will, decided that two flavors of Mt. Dew weren’t enough. They had the regular stuff and Code Red for a long time, but that wasn’t enough. So they decided to start hosting contests to come up with great new flavors, and then they’d have people vote on which ones were the best, and the winners got to hang around as new Mt. Dews.

I don’t know why they bothered with the contests, because the two finalists always seem to be made into permanent flavors. When Livewire was up for voting, it was against Voltage, and now both are available pretty much everywhere. And Voltage is delicious too, if you like blue raspberry. Oh man.

Livewire is orange Mt. Dew, and let me tell you, as a fan of orange pop, this is the very best tasting orange pop on the market. No other orange tops this. It’s VERY orange, and you can still taste the Mt. Dew in it. It’s perfect, really.

The problem? Pepsi treats it as a second rate citizen. It’s only available in 20 ounce bottles and in cans, the latter of which can only be purchased in 12 packs or cases. IF you go to a place that carries them. My local Kroger doesn’t. Oh, but they have every other fucking flavor of Mt. Dew, including that Red White And Dew flavor which has an aftertaste like cough syrup but otherwise isn’t too bad.

It would be awesome if I could get a 2 liter of it. But Pepsi apparently has no plans to put it in a 2 liter. I asked a Pepsi delivery guy at Kroger once. What he said didn’t make any sense, leading me to believe he had no idea what he was talking about, but what I got out of it was, they’re not going to do it.

I stopped at a BP one night and their Pepsi cooler was stocked full of every flavor imaginable, except Livewire. There wasn’t even a space for it.

Yet when I go to places I know carries it in the 20 ounce bottles, sometimes the only one sold out is Livewire. I wonder why that is. Maybe because it’s fucking delicious and everyone loves it?

If they ever get rid of it, I might just stop drinking Mt. Dew all together. Hell, I’ve damn near forgotten what regular Mt. Dew tastes like.

If you’re a fan of the orange pop and haven’t had this yet, go get yourself one and let me know what you think.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in General Chatter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mt. Dew Livewire – The Pop Of Gods

  1. orbthefirst says:

    I loved Livewire. Haven’t seen it in so long though that I just figured they stopped selling it. Cant stand the other “extra” flavors though. I always thought of them as passing fads, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Matt Roberts says:

      That’s funny. I can do Voltage every now and then, and I’ll always love Code Red, but that’s about it for me. I don’t taste much of a difference in White Out other than it tastes like Mt. Dew only less so. The rest are all garbage. Baja Blast sucks, Pitch Black sucks… they all suck.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    I’ll second Orb and say that I loved it and thought they quit making it. It was the best orange pop ever.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Arionis says:

    I have acid reflux caused by caffeine. When I was diagnosed with this years ago, Mt. Dew was my go to soda. I drastically cut back on it (guess what I am drinking as I comment) but will have one occasionally. I’m also a fan of orange soda and I didn’t even know this existed. I’m a man on a mission now. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Matt Roberts says:

      I don’t think it’s caffeine that gives me acid reflux, but I usually do get heartburn when drinking it. I think it’s the citric acid in it. I don’t know what I’d do if I had to stop drinking it entirely. I have cut back a lot, but I can’t quit it. Especially Livewire. I hope you find some!

      Liked by 1 person

Speak, Earthling!

