What They Be Doin’ Now? Cracker

Another 90s band I was never much a fan of, but I did like that one hit they had. Have a listen.

I was 13 when that came out back in 1993, and I was a fan of it immediately because they said “stoned.” You know, cause that’s cool to a brand new teenager. Turns out after all these years, it’s actually a pretty good song. The lyrics don’t make much sense, but that’s okay. They said “stoned.”

I don’t think I’ve actually listened to anything else by them. Maybe they had a couple other songs that were popular, but I can’t recall them. Regardless, it all makes me ask the question… Where Are This Band Now At?

While looking up info on them I listened to some of their other tunes, and I think I like it. I might have to get some of their albums. The cool thing is, I might still be able to see them live. BECAUSE…

They’re still together. They have had quite a few different members over the years, but they do still have two of the founding members, David Lowery and Johnny Hickman. Their last album came out in 2014 titled Berkeley to Bakersfield.

They also did a cover of Led Zeppelin’s Good Times, Bad Times, and it’s pretty damn good. Have a listen.

They recorded that for a tribute album (which also spawned a hit for Stone Temple Pilots with their cover of Dancing Days) after first recording When The Levee Breaks but was told it was “too weird.”

Would you like to see them live? Go ahead, they’re currently on tour.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in Music, What They Be Doin Now? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What They Be Doin’ Now? Cracker

  1. orbthefirst says:

    I want to say I saw these guys at Summerfest back in the early 90s, but I wasnt sober much back then Lol. Headlined for Silverchair or somesuch.
    The tunes ok though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joey says:

    It’s a good song, my brain still knows it.

    Liked by 2 people

Speak, Earthling!

