Independence Day

(I apologize, WordPress is still messing with my URLS.)

Happy fourth, everybody!

Some time in these last 240+ years we’ve forgotten what Independence Day is all about. Not all of us, I know there are many who still remember. Like all of our troops, may I salute them now.

July 4th is not about fireworks. And I know in this country we live in today, it’s hard to think about actually having independence, considering how terrible our government is. Well, if you’re one of those people who thinks that way, like I do. In all reality, they are our overlords and we are their puppets.

We should be excited to be independent, regardless, because we do have it much better in this country than they do in a lot of other places.

I’m not one for fireworks, though. I used to be, but the older I got, the less into them I was. Once you’ve seen fireworks, you’ve seen fireworks.

Locally we have an amusement park called King’s Island. Every night at closing time they shoot off fireworks. On the 4th they have an extra good show, but the regular shows are still pretty good, and about 10 minutes long. My wife used to work next door to there at a hotel, and some nights I’d drop her off for work and then sit in the parking lot and watch the fireworks. That summer I must’ve seen 100 firework shows. They were all cool, but seriously, they were just fireworks. After a while they were nothing special.

For the last 20 years that I’ve lived in this house, the neighbors behind me have had firework shows every year on the 4th, yet they typically shoot them off starting on the first and ending on the sixth or seventh. By the time the 4th comes, I’m already sick of them.

And how have we been lied to all of these years? Well, we left England because of taxation, and we started a country and taxed the hell out of the people. We’ve literally been hypocrites since the birth of this country. No matter the reason for the taxes, which are necessary to a point, the basic fact of it is, hypocrisy.

Even Hollywood has helped! A newer tradition of the 4th is to watch the blockbuster movie Independence Day starring Will Smith. What a great movie. And every year people celebrate Will Smith for saving us from aliens.

Thank you, Fresh Prince.

The thing is, he didn’t save us from the aliens. This crazy bastard did.

Thanks, Whackjob.

Yeah, Randy flew his jet straight up into the asshole of the mother ship and destroyed it, which brought down the force fields of all the little Honda Fit ships and allowing the rest of the world to bring them all down once and for all. And sure, Will Smith was one of those guys, but so were thousands of others all over Earth.

Once again, 4th of July lies.

I’m not very patriotic. I love America, I was born here and I’ll probably die here. But the older I get the more bullshit I see and the less I like living here. Unfortunately, bullshit happens all over the world, and one of these days we’re all going to blow ourselves up and there will be nothing left for any of us.

So says my anxiety and paranoia. It’s real, folks. Chalk this all up as you wish to whatever you wish. But if I’m right (believe me, I hope I’m wrong), I promise not to say I told you so. It’s because of this that I’m not very “YAY INDEPENDENCE DAY!” The only thing I really celebrated today was being able to drive around and not dealing with traffic.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in General Chatter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Independence Day

  1. orbthefirst says:

    My brother died this 4th at about 1am. I wont be celebrating it anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. orbthefirst says:

    No, like 24 hours ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. orbthefirst says:

    Thanks. Just another reason to blow off another national holiday.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Arionis says:

    Whatever your views on the subject I don’t think anyone can watch (which I’ve done a bagillion times) Randy Quaid fly his jet into their “primary weapon” and fail to get chills down their spine.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Krista Lynn says:

    This is why we get along so well. I have never been particularly grateful just because I was born here. In terms of happiness, Americans are some of the most miserable fuckers on the planet. Blind loyalty is a concept I gave up in my early teens for a reason. I give credit where it’s due and that is all. I have never liked the noise of fireworks. I’ve had impossibly sensitive ears and I’ve had to leave concerts from the vertigo it can cause. Even with earplugs, sometimes I’m screwed. This year, the neighbors were at least courteous enough not to sound off the asshole cannons but I still hate the noise. Fireworks shows and festivals are awesome, but I’m so over the week long amateur crap. It’s not just limited to a window of time. Sometimes I’ll hear pops before noon and past midnight. Last year it went on for over two weeks and I had developed a painful twitch in my eye. I don’t feel particularly free when I’m physically sick from the shit. I didn’t mean to vent, but I might be inclined towards being more patriotic if I actually liked most Americans.
    Anyways, Rob, I’m really sorry about your brother. I don’t frequent social media much to keep up with people anymore (been forever since I’ve been on Google + for sure). I lost my grandma on Christmas and my mom on her birthday so timing can be a bastard without a doubt. I haven’t been much for celebrating anything, but I’ve been keeping up on my projects and finding some semblance of normal. Here’s hoping you find yours.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Matt Roberts says:

      You said what I wanted to say, but in words I couldn’t find. Growing up I wanted to be all American so much, but the older I got the more I saw what you said. We’re a miserable bunch of fucks. And damn near everyone, especially white people, feel like they’re entitled to everything. I just can’t stand it anymore.

      Like

Speak, Earthling!

