Live Friday Nights: Robert Randolph – I Don’t Know What You Come To Do

I first discovered Robert Randolph And The Family Band via a local music video TV station. I got up early one morning to go to work and turned it on and it was at the start of the video for their first hit, I Need More Love. I almost turned it, but was immediately drawn into the beat. After it was over, I was hooked. I bought the album it was on and fell in love.

That was back in 2002 or so. And then I saw them on Austin City Limits, which is what the performance below is from. Over the years I’ve followed them and I must say, they’re interesting. They started as a church group and grew from there. They’re all actually related, except the white guy, who they made an official cousin so he could be in the Family Band.

They started playing in jam band festivals and fell into that crowd. Eric Clapton fell in love with them and performed on one of their albums and has had them jam with him in concert.

The only thing I don’t like about them is, they don’t do a lot of singing when live. They sing a lot on their albums, but not live. Other than that, they have a ton of energy, they’re great musicians, and their own songs are really damn good. Even for a “religious” band, and I’m not religious. And their bass player is one of the greatest bass players alive.

About Matt Roberts

I am an author of horror and things near it. I enjoy nightmares and bad B horror flicks.
This entry was posted in Live Friday Nights, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Live Friday Nights: Robert Randolph – I Don’t Know What You Come To Do

  1. orbthefirst says:

    Good shit!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Live Friday Nights: Noisettes – Never Forget You | Martians Attack!

Speak, Earthling!

