Live Friday Nights: Sum 41 – Master Of Puppets

I saw Sum 41 a couple of years ago on some awards show or something, and they performed one song. I have no idea what it was, but up til that point I had never heard anything by them. What I saw was decent enough that I went to YouTube to look them up, and this was the first thing that caught my attention.

First let me say, I’m not a big Metallica fan. I love their older albums, of course, and even a few of their newer stuff. “Newer” meaning everything after the Black album. I do not think they are a good band live. Earlier performances were good, but again, anything recently has been terrible. Anyway, that’s a whole other post entirely.

Saying that makes it easy to say that I think Sum 41 does this song better than Metallica.

It also helps that again, the mixing is perfect all the way around. And the band is completely in sync with one another. I’d love to see them live and I only know this one song, and it’s not even theirs.

6 thoughts on “Live Friday Nights: Sum 41 – Master Of Puppets

  1. Well, I don’t know fuck all about Sum 41, but I loved the Black album, cover to cover so to speak, and I saw Metallica in concert and THEY SUCKED. But still, at least I have Black.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ive got a few Sum 41 tunes, theyre ok. Basically what passes as emo punk nowadays. Nothing spectacular, but good in the background. They used to play a lot of stuff of theirs on the radio back home.
    That is a damn good cover though.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m pretty sure I heard something about how they switched from emo punk to hard rock/metal recently for some reason, hence this cover. There was an awards show celebrating Metallica and they were on there doing a collage of Metallica’s tunes.

      Liked by 2 people

Speak, Earthling!