What They Be Doin’ Now? Spacehog

Here’s a band that, when they were very popular with their one hit, I was a huge fan of. Well, I was a huge fan of the song. I still am. Love it. Yet I never bought any of their albums, never seen them live, and pretty much forget all about them until I hear that one song.

You know the song.

Damn I love that song. That will most likely be one of my favorite songs for the rest of my life. I really do need to check out more of their stuff. I might like it.

Anyway, they had that hit. And when it was popular, a buddy of mine went to a Spacehog concert, and he said they weren’t all that good and said they didn’t seem to want to be there.

I also had another friend back then who bought the album this song was on, and told me the rest of the album was so-so.

Those two things, I think, kept me from ever buying the album or keeping up with them in any way. But of course I still wonder, where are they at this particular moment in time?

Well, the only thing I can find is on Wikipedia. It says they put out an album in 2013 called As It Is On Earth.

Their official website is down and the domain is up for sale.

And that’s about it. I searched Royston William Langdon, the bass player and singer of the group, and even he’s not doing anything right now that I could find. He was married to Liv Tyler for a while and had a kid with her, but they split in 2008.

Since I decided to do this group I found a copy of Resident Alien and gave it a listen. I really liked it. It’s definitely spacey, which I like. I compare it to a mix between Pink Floyd and David Bowie. Not a bad mix, although I can see why it didn’t do well here in the states.

One thought on “What They Be Doin’ Now? Spacehog

Speak, Earthling!