One-Liner Wednesday – Grandma’s Boy

Grandma’s Boy is one of my favorite movies of all time and since I first heard of it only a few years ago from my buddy Joe, I’ve probably seen it more times than any other movie, and that’s saying a lot. It’s pretty much the perfect comedy for me. It doesn’t take much thought to watch it, but the jokes are there and constant. And there are a lot of them. After seeing the movie a billion times I was still seeing or hearing things that I never noticed before, and those things were making me laugh.

However, there is one line in the movie that I think, in all honesty, is probably my favorite line in any movie, ever. Just because it’s so absurdly funny and completely out of left field. And the delivery is impeccable.

If you haven’t seen or don’t care to see it, I’ll set up the scene for you. Which means spoilers.

Dante is a pot dealer and has a ton of crazy-named weed. The main character, Alex, gets all his weed from him throughout the movie, and their scenes are always hysterical.

Alex quits his job after something bad happened and he just wants to get ripped, so he stops by Dante’s house and tells him to take all of his crazy-named weed and roll it all up into one joint.

After they smoke, they’re on a whole other level. The phone rings. Dante looks around quizzically as the phone continues to ring.

And then, “What is that ringing? Do I have a tumor?”

How high do you have to be to hear a telephone ringing, something you’ve heard your entire life, zillions of times, and instantly think that you might just have a tumor? No matter how many times I hear it, I laugh. And that’s what I love about the movie. It makes me genuinely laugh every time I watch it. Just thinking about it is making me laugh. Now I have to go watch the movie. Again.

One-Liner Wednesday is a product of LindaGHill

2 thoughts on “One-Liner Wednesday – Grandma’s Boy

    1. The Governator gets it. Actually in that scene where the monkey is driving, when he lunges over towards Allan Covert, he’s trying to bite his face off. Apparently the monkey didn’t care much for him during filming. So yeah, they’re mean lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Speak, Earthling!